+27 (0) 11 781 2772

Jury for the 2017 APEX awards announced

For over two decades, the APEX awards have honoured highly effective communications campaigns in South Africa. As with previous years, the 2017 edition of the awards sees a heavyweight adjudication panel made up of captains of industry from various disciplines including strategy, digital, creative, research, media and marketing as well as agency heads judge the ‘work that works’.

Judges will be looking for campaigns that disrupted the clutter, had extensive reach and communicated via mediums that resonate with the desired consumer. The rigorous adjudication process spans three rounds during which submissions are judged against specific criteria including rigour, degree of difficulty, clarity of evidence, compelling case, and insight.

“APEX affirms the credibility and the value of creativity in business activity. The awards, and more specifically the results attained by the communications campaigns affirm our professions’ contribution to business success. They add and reinforce credence in the profession and affirm its contribution to the broader economy and business success,” says Odette van der Haar, CEO of the Association of Communications and Advertising (ACA) which hosts the annual APEX awards.

Apart from being an essential business tool that affixes value to credentials for agencies, marketers and leading brands, an APEX award is a definitive manifestation of great ideas meeting great results. APEX recognises the work that worked; the campaigns that demonstrated effectiveness in creativity that extends beyond pictures to creative intellect and intellectual property that is the currency of the industry.

Concludes van der Haar: “For agencies, winning an APEX affirms their effectiveness and contribution to their clients’ businesses. For clients, winning an APEX affirms their contribution to their company’s bottom line. Winning an APEX is therefore the ultimate testament to the vital role that effective advertising and marketing communications play in business success.”

The 2017 APEX awards jury members are:




Ana Carrapichano

Group Managing Director


Bridget Johnson

Consulting Executive Creative Director

WICK Consulting

Daniel Naidoo

Director Interactive

Gendel Interactive

Doug Place

Chief Marketing Officer


Elizabeth Lee Ming

Executive Director: Strategy and Digital


Elouise Kelly

Head of Marketing


Gareth Leck

Group CEO

Joe Public

Ivan Moroke



Katlego Moutlana

Head of Strategy

Mortimer Harvey

Lwandile Qokweni

Chief Strategic Officer

MEC Global

Marlin van Noie

Creative Partner

Sugar Ray Leonard (SRL+SCC)

Mike Jones

Head of Strategy

Native VML

Natalie Otte

Head of Brand

Kantar Millward Brown

Neil Higgs

Independent Consultant

Retired ex TNS Global

Odette van der Haar



Priniven Pillay

Independent Strategist


Roxy Maqache

Group Business Insights Executive

Tiger Brands

Sbu Sitole

Creative Director

The Odd Number

Sharon Keith

Marketing Director


Thabang Ramogase



Thabang Skwambane

Managing Director

FCB, Johannesburg

Tshego Tshukutswane

Insight Director


Veli Ngubane

Chief Creative Officer


Virginia Hollis

Managing Director


The 2017 APEX awards is proudly hosted by the ACA with sponsors Kantar Millward Brown, Liberty LIfe and Unilever. Connect with the ACA on Facebook at ACASouthAfrica and on Twitter @ACA_SA for regular updates on #APEX2017